ABOUT: Partners & Supporters

The Palmetto Land + Water Legacy Alliance is funded and supported by state conservation groups, economic organizations, companies and individuals who care about the future of our state. This collective effort is essential if we want to protect our land, waterways and history for generations to come.


Anyone interested in ensuring safe drinking water and preserving our natural beauty, history and heritage for generations to come can register FREE as a supporter. We send regular emails to our supporters, equipping them with tools, tips and action alerts to help persuade the SC General Assembly to reauthorize the Conservation Bank.

Join us today and visit us on Facebook to stay in the know!


The Palmetto Land + Water Legacy Alliance is governed by a Board of Directors whose members are currently:

  • Paul C. “Bo” Aughtry III, Windsor-Aughtry
  • Ashley Demosthenes, Lowcountry Land Trust
  • Frank Holleman, Naturaland Trust
  • Mikee Johnson, Chairman and CEO of Cox Industries
  • Burnie Maybank, Partner, Nexson Pruet, Columbia, former Director, SC Department of Revenue
  • Sharon Richardson, South Carolina Audubon Society
  • Mark Robertson, The Nature Conservancy
  • John Tynan, Conservation Voters of South Carolina
  • Brad Wyche, Upstate Forever
  • Barry Wynn, Colonial Trust, Spartanburg, former SC Republican Party Chairman

Up to two additional Board members may be appointed in the near future.



Any person, group or business can become a member organization through a minimum donation of $1000. Every dollar counts, so please consider supporting the Conservation Bank reauthorization today, whether you can give $1, $1000 or even an hour of your time. Your support will be the difference maker!

Many other organizations and individual members have donated time, money or marketing support to help us make reauthorization happen before June, 2017.

COMPANIES AND ORGANIZATIONS: Congaree Land Trust, South Carolina Audubon Society, South Carolina Land Trust Network, Pee Dee Land Trust, Lord Berkeley Conservation Trust, The Conservation Fund, Windsor-Aughtry, Lowcountry Land Trust, Naturaland TrusT, Cox Industries, Nexson Pruet, South Carolina Audubon Society, The Nature Conservancy, Conservation Voters of South Carolina, Upstate Forever, Colonial Trust (Spartanburg), Hughes Development Corporation, Michelin

INDIVIDUALS: Former Representative Bob Inglis, Bob Royall, Carlton Owen, Ambassador David Wilkins, Minor and Hal Shaw, Charles Lane, James Wilkins, Hunter Howard, Jim Morton, Erwin Maddrey, Glenn Hilliard, Barry Wynn, Doug Harper, Ed McMullen, Paul C. “Bo” Aughtry III, Ashley Demosthenes, Frank Holleman, Mikee Johnson, Burnie Maybank, Sharon Richardson, Mark Robertson, John Tynan, Brad Wyche, Barry Wynn, Bob Hughes

We urgently need your support in our efforts to make sure reauthorization happens.

The first step is simply providing us with your contact information, so we can keep you updated on our efforts. Once you are on our communications list, we will provide the ideas and methods for you to let your elected representative in Columbia know how important the conservation bank is to you personally. Remember, they are there to represent you, and not play politics.